Match Reports‎ > ‎

06/06/2011 - JHC Boardsmill v Moylagh

posted 6 Jun 2011, 14:19 by Suzann McLoughlin

Competition: David Grey catering JHC

Teams: Boardsmill v Moylagh

Date: 06/06/2011 7pm

Venue: Kildalkey


Half Time Score: Boardsmill 1-09 Moylagh 0-02

Full Time Score: Boardsmill 2-13 Moylagh 2-07


Boardsmill commenced their Junior Championship this evening in fine style against Moylagh. Moylagh got off to a good start with a point after two minutes, however moments later Fin Ennis matched this with a point from play. Sean Dixon then followed suit with a converted free from the 21 yard line ten minutes into the game. The full forward line of Ennis, Gerry Jones and Dixon were in great form for Boardsmill each scoring a brace in the first half while Seamus Guy in defence worked hard to keep the Moylagh forwards scoreless. Bernard McLoughlin tagged on another point after a long solo run, while Cathal Flattery also got a point from play. The best score of the half came from Flattery in the final minutes when he received a great pass from Peter McLoughlin and found the net. Moylagh got the chance to get the last say in the first half with their second point. Boardsmill 1-09 to Moylagh 0-02.

Again Moylagh were first off the blocks in the second half with a free after a minute followed up with another point from play. Jones secured Boardsmill's first score of the second half with another fine point after seven minutes. Dixon then converted a free leaving the scores at 1-11 to 0-04. Moylagh then went on a scoring spree with a goal and three points from play. In the sixteenth minute of the second half P. McLoughlin was awarded a free thirty yards out from goal. Dixon launched the ball into the square which took a wicked deflection ending up in the back of the net. Dixon converted Boardsmill's final score before the Mill conceded a late goal in the dying minutes of the game. Finishing up 2-13 to 2-07. Best for Boardsmill were Gerry Jones and Seamus Guy. 

Boardsmill: E. Dixon, C. Garrigan, P. Dunne, S. Hoey, F. Smith, S. Guy, C. Darby, B. McLoughlin (0-01), J. Flood, P. McLoughlin, C. Flattery (1-01), A. Hoey, F. Ennis (0-02), G. Jones (0-4), S. Dixon (1-05). 

Subs: A. Ashe for E. Dixon, D. Kealey for C. Garrigan, J. Loughran for S. Hoey, O. Jones for C. Darby, S. Kennedy for P. McLoughlin.